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Nebraska License Law

Introduction

In 2015, NREC (Nebraska Real Estate Commission) identified a need to
rebuild course instruction for its real estate population in the area of Real
Estate License Law.

This course has been developed as a 30 hour Pre-License Course, with
10 different modules that can be split into CE (continued education) for
Nebraska Licensed Real Estate Professionals.
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MODULE 1
GETTING YOUR NEBRASKA
REAL ESTATE LICENSE
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1. GETTING YOUR NEBRASKA
REAL ESTATE LICENSE

License Law

e Definition of license and License Law

Governing Powers

* ARELLO, NAR, NREC, and NRA

Real Estate Licensee Information

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT and THE NEBRASKA CANDIDATE
HANDBOOK. If one is not provided by your instructor, please go
to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website, www.nrec.ne.qov.

OBJECTIVES
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LICENSE :

LICENSE LAWS :
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ARELLO
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REALTOR®
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WHERE DO | FIND TESTING INFORMATON???

e Go to www.pearsonvue.com/ne/realestate to schedule
an Exam after your name has been released by NREC.

e Or call Pearson Vue at 800-819-3966, from 7:00 am to
9:00 pm

e This information is found on page 2 of the Nebraska
Candidate Handbook.

- | NEBRASKA

Real Estate
License i
Examinations

Septembper 2023
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Assessment Quiz
True or False
1. The law of brokerage is a combination of the statute of frauds and the law of equity.
2. A broker’s employment contract with a salesperson must be in writing.

3. A licensed broker may divide his/her commission with an unlicensed attorney, who
cooperated in making the sale.

4. The salesperson who leaves a broker may take all of his/her listings to his/her new
broker.

5. A licensed salesperson may divide his/her commissions with another licensed
salesperson with his/her broker’s consent.

6. The principle in a listing contract is the seller.

7. The NREC (Nebraska Real Estate Commission) has authority to fix 6 percent as the
rate of commission on real estate.

8. “Earnest Money” is the commission which a broker receives in the deal.

9. “REALTOR” is the term used by a broker after he successfully negotiates a deal.
10. A broker may pay compensation only to his own salespeople and another broker.
11. A listing contract is ended if the salesperson, who obtained the listing, dies.

12. A Real Estate Board in a metropolitan area can fix the commission rate for its
members to charge.

13. It is unlawful for a salesperson to receive a commission from anyone other than the
broker to which he/she is licensed.

14. A salesperson should advertise the sale of real estate in his/her name only.

15. The law obligates every agent to act in and for the best interest of his/her client.
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Assessment Quiz

Multiple Choice

1. A salesperson receiving a deposit should:
a. Place it in his/her “special account.”
b. Place it in his/her broker’s general account.
c. Turn it over to his/her broker.
d. Place it in the salesperson’s trust account.
2. Upon the death of a broker, his/her listings may be taken over by:
a. His widow.
b. His son, who is of lawful age.
c. A trust company.
d. None of these.
3. The first step necessary for licensed broker to recover a commission is to:
a. Find a buyer.
b. Find aseller.
c. Have a contract of employment.
d. Advertise the property for sale.
4, When a broker and a salesperson have a dispute over commission from a deal, they should:
a. Complain to the owner.
b. Bring action in court.
c. File acomplaint to the NREC.
d. Compel arbitration.
5. The broker’s fiduciary relationship with his principal requires that:
a. He/she act as a responsible and prudent person.
b. He/she discuss all angles of each deal with his/her salespersons.
c. Hefshe act in the highest and best interest of his/her client.
d. He/she act commensurate with his compensation.
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“HOW TO CHOOSE A
REAL ESTATE
COMPANY FOR WHICH
TO WORK?”

What’s important to you?
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Developing Interview Questions?

o Do you provide training?

o Do you have a mentor program where | can shadow an
experienced agent for a period of time?

o At what commission split will I begin?

o What costs will I incur? Initial: Licensing, application, business
cards, photo, name badge, dues, etc.

o Please show me the examples of marketing materials available to
me.

o Isthere a dress code?

1) Based on the video what are some other questions you may want to ask a
broker before making a decision?

2) Based on the video what other questions should you ask yourself before
interviewing with a brokerage?
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DEVELOPING A BUSINESS PLAN;

e \What does working as an independent contractor mean to you?

e Do you have a business plan in place?

e Have you been in business before?

e \What worked?

e What didn’t?

e \What would you do differently?

e \What advice would you share with your peers?

For FREE business plan information go to www.sba.org.
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2. NEBRASKA FAIR HOUSING ACT,
Part 1

Fair Housing in Today's World

e Intfroduction to Fair Housing practices in
Real Estate.

The Fair Housing Act

e Students should be able to interpret the
basic concepts of the Fair Housing Act in
Nebraska.

Learn Key Terms

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT and NEBRASKA FAIR HOUSING ACT. Ifoneis
not provided by your instructor, please go to the Nebraska Real
Estate Commission website, www.nrec.ne.gov.

OBJECTIVES
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“Matter of Place”

What words may have
indicated discrimination in
this movie?

What would you do if you were alone at your first listing appointment
and the seller made this off-the-cuff remark, “I don’t want you to sell my
home to a Hispanic family?”

Page 16 of 112



NEBRASKA LICENSE LAW

Discrimination:

Redlining:
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Blockbusting:
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The Fair Housing Actis a law
enacted as part of civil rights
legislation that prohibits
discrimination of home sales,
rentals, and financing based on
race, color, national origin,
religion, sex, familial stafus or
those with disabilities.

www.google.com

What is the FAIR HOUSING ACT?

Human Rights
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Fair Housing Act 1968:

Protected:

NOTES:
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NEBRASKA Fair Housing Act

NE Fair Housing Act; Article 3; Housing; 20-302. Civil Rights;
policy of state. It is the policy of the State of Nebraska that
there shall be no discrimination in the acquisition,
ownership, possession or enjoyment of housing throughout
the State of Nebraska in accordance with Article 1,
Section 25, of the Constitution of Nebraska.
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Fair Housing Act 1974:

Protected:

Fair Housing Act 1988:

Protected:
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NEBRASKA Fair Housing Act

NE Fair Housing Act; Article 3, Housing; 20-318. Unlawful acts
enumerated. Except as exempted by Section 20-322 it shall
be unlawful to:

(1) Refuse to sell or rent after making a bona fide offer,
refuse to negotiate for the sale or rent of or otherwise make
unavailable or deny, refuse to show, or to receive... (20-318
through 20-322.)
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WHY is Section 20-322 EXEMPT?

Reference; Section 20-322 Nebraska Fair Housing Book
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WORK SPACE:
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1) The law that prohibits all racial discrimination in housing is;

Civil Rights Act of 1866.
Civil Rights Act of 1964.
Civil Rights Act of 1968.
Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988.

oo o

2) What federal agency on a national basis is responsible for handling fair housing complaints?

a. Department of Human Rights
b. HUD

c. FHA

d.

Attorney General’s Office

3) A property manager did not want to rent to a gay couple after they had given him deposit,
first month’s rent and passed a credit check. He told the couple that he had made a mistake
and the apartment had already been rented by another property manager, when in fact it had
not. This is an illegal practice according to;

NE Fair Housing Act; Article 3.
Civil Rights Act of 1866

Civil Rights Act of 1968.

VA

oo o w

4) The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination of home sales, rentals and financing based on;

Race, color, religion, and familial status.

Race, color, national origin, religion, familial status or those with disabilities.
Race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or those with disabilities.
None of the above.

o0 o

5) What was a business practice of real estate agents and building developers to convince white
property owners to sell their homes at low prices out of fear that persons of color would soon
move into the neighborhood and depreciate property values?

a. Steering c. Block Busting
b. Redlining d. Discrimination
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3. NEBRASKA FAIR HOUSING ACT,
Part 2

Fair Housing in Today's World

* Housing problems we face today.

NREC Role

e Discover what roles NREC plays in
Nebraska Fair Housing.

HUD Advertising

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT and NEBRASKA FAIR HOUSING ACT. Ifoneis
not provided by your instructor, please go to the Nebraska Real
Estate Commission website, www.nrec.ne.gov.

OBJECTIVES
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FAIR HOUSING IN TODAY’S WORLD

In today’s real estate industry, fair housing laws are still being
contested and challenged. What do we see happening in Nebraska?

L R

1A

IMMIGRATY ON
“BATTLE;

T e N ol

A...-_.___:— i
MEGHAN YOUKER "“42

-

In 2014 Fremont, NE made National News Headlines because of
their desire to restrict housing to illegal immigrants.
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Undocumented immigrants in California could be eligible for state
assistance in buying a home under a bill the state Legislature sent to
Democratic Gov. Gavin Newsom Wednesday.

The proposal, which prompted contentious debate in the Legislature,
would specify that people who meet all other requirements for a loan
under a state program offering assistance to first-time homebuyers,
should not be disqualified based on their immigration status. The
Assembly gave it final approval in the Legislature in a vote that fell
along party lines.

Assemblymember Joaquin Arambula, a Democrat representing Fresno
who authored the bill, said it was not about immigration policies but
about fairness and addressing the housing crisis.

"AB 1840 is about providing an opportunity to hard-working,
responsible people who dream of owning a home and passing that legacy
to their children — a dream that we all have for all our families in
California," Arambula said in a statement. "And, that includes
undocumented immigrants who have lived here for decades and pay
their taxes."

But Republican lawmakers say California should prioritize housing
assistance for families who are in the country legally.

"We have Californians who are not undocumented immigrants, who
need these services," Republican state Sen. Brian Dahle said earlier this
week. "We should take care of them first, before we expand it out.”
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Dahle was one of nine state senators to sign a letter requesting Newsom
to veto the hill.

Newsom has until the end of September to sign or veto the bill.

Answer the following questions based on the article

1. Are illegal Immigrants a Protected Class under the Fair Housing
Act?

2. Based on the information in this article, do you project more
states and communities will enact similar laws in the future?
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What is NREC’s role in Fair Housing?

How do you file a complaint with NREC when a discriminatory act

has occurred?
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Thinking Problem;

Kayla and Juan, college professors, owned a home situated close to the
water on the Platte River which they enjoyed during the summer months
when school was not in session. The other nine months of the year they
contracted with Roger, a licensed property manager, to find a suitable
couple who would rent it out.

Julie and Sam, with their 5 kids, who had excellent credit and referrals,
tried to rent the property. However, based on safety fears regarding the
children being so close to the water, their application was rejected.
Based on familial status, Julie and Sam filed a complaint with the
NREC.
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1. Did a discriminatory act occur?

2. Can Julie and Sam file a complaint with the NREC? If so, against
whom?

3. If Kayla and Juan had not hired Roger to represent them, would they
have been exempt from the fair housing Act?
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Section 804(C) of the Fair Housing Act

It is unlawful “to make, print, or publish, or
cause fo be made, printed, or published
any notice, statement, or preference,
limitation or discrimination because of race,
religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or
national origin, or an intention to make such
preference, limitation, or discrimination.”

Applies to ALL advertising media, including;

v
v

DATES TO REMEMBER,

1989

* HUD published advertising guidelines,

1995

» additional guidelines were published.

Page 37 of 112



NEBRASKA LICENSE LAW

®

4. If Kayla and Juan had not hired Roger to represent them, would they

have been exempt from the Fair Housing Act?
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U. S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

EQUAL HOUSING
OPPORTUNITY
We Do Business in Accordance With the Federal Fair
Housing Law
(The Fair Housing Amendments Actof 1988)

It is illegal to Discriminate Against Any Person
Because of Race, Color, Religion, Sex,
Handicap, Familial Status, or National Origin

In the sale or rental of housing or || In the provision of real estate

residential lots brokerage services
In advertising the sale or rental B I the appraisal of housing

of housing

B n the financing of housing | Blockbusting is also illegal

Anyone who feels he or she has been
may U.S. Department of Housing and
housingdiscrimination: Urban Development

1-800-669-9777 (Toll Free)

o Assistant Secretary for Fair Housing and
1-800-927-9275 (TTY) Equal Opportunity
www.hud.gov/fairhousing Washington, D.C. 20410
Previous cdioms are obots Toem HUD938.1 (62011

Where MUST the Equal Housing Opportunity Logo and this poster
be displayed?
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FAIR HOUSING ADVERTISING
WORD AND PHRASE QUIZ

Below is a list of words and phrases that are sometimes used by Real Estate Professionals in
advertising. Mark which words you think are not acceptable, should be used with caution, or are

considered acceptable in complying with state and federal housing laws.

NA to indicate Not Acceptable

C to indicate words that should be used with Caution.

A to indicate the words are Acceptable.

Able-bodied Chinese

active Children, no
adult living church (es), near
adults only close to

African college students
agile colored
alcoholics, no couple

Asian couples only
bachelor country club near
blacks, no credit check required
blind, no crippled, no

board approved required
bus/MAX, near
Catholic

Caucasian

fisherman’s retreat
fixer-upper

gays, no
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Chicano Indian

deaf, no Irish

den Integrated

desirable, neighborhood Jewish

drinkers, no landlord, (description of)
drugs, no Latino

drug users, no lesbians, no

employees, no luxury townhouse
(gender) male(s) only

grandma’s house male roommate
gentleman’s farm man (men) only

empty nesters married

Equal Opportunity Employer, EOE mature

(ethnic references) mature couple

exclusive mature individuals
family, great for mature person(s)

family room membership approval required
female(s) only mentally handicapped, no
golden agers only nice

golf course, near no play area
handicapped, not for no student(s)
handyman’s dream non-drinkers

healthy only non-smokers

Hispanic (#of) bedrooms

hobby farm (# of) children

Impair, no (# of) sleeping areas
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mentally ill, no (# of) persons
Mexican-American nursing home
Mormon Temple nursery

mosque older person(s)
mother-in-law apartment one child

Muslim one person

must comply with park rules Oriental

nanny’s room physically fit
(nationality) play area

near Polish
neighborhood name prestigious
newlyweds privacy

private seasonal worker, no
private driveway secluded

private entrance Section 8, no
private property secure

private setting security provided
public transport, near senior(s)

Puerto Rican senior citizen(s)
quality construction senior discount
quality neighborhood shrine

quiet singles only
quiet neighborhood single person
quiet tenants single women, man
responsible smoking, no
restricted smokers, no
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retarded, no
retired

retirees

school district
school name
student(s) only
temple, near
townhouse
traditional style
two people
view of

white

white only

(square feet)

Social Security Insurance, no
sophisticated

stable

straight only

woman (women) only
tranquil setting
synagogue, near
tenant (description of)
unemployed, no
verifiable income

walking distance of
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1) Which of the following actions is legal under Fair Housing laws in Nebraska?

a. Refusing to rent to a family with children.

b. Refusing to show a home to a Muslim couple.

c. Telling a prospective tenant a home is already rented when it is not.
d. Turning down a prospective tenant because of a poor credit history.

2) ALL of the following are exempt from the Federal Fair Housing Laws except;

a. A licensed agent selling a home for his/her family.

b. Church using a building for a non-commercial purpose.
c. For Sale by Owner.

Private golf club renting out rooms to its members.

o

3) A local broker does not have an equal housing poster displayed prominently in his office, nor
do they have the equal housing logo displayed on their website. This absence may be
considered,;

a. Acceptable because there are not many minorities in Nebraska.

b. A misdemeanor and subject to a fine of not more than $100 dollars.
c. Prima facie evidence of discrimination.

d. Good use of saving advertising space and money.

4) In 1989 HUD published advertising guidelines which;

a. Contained words, phrases, symbols or visual aids that indicate a discriminatory
preference or limitation.

b. Contained words and phrases that indicate a non-discriminatory preference or limitation.

c. Contained words, phrases, symbols or visual aids that indicate a non-discriminatory
preference or limitation.

d. HUD does not set advertising guidelines.

5) When filing a Fair Housing complaint with the Nebraska Real Estate Commission which of
the following is true;

a. Complaint MUST be over the phone to a trained professional.

b. Aggrieved person MUST file the complaint within 90 days of an alleged discriminatory
housing practice.

c. Aggrieved person MUST file the complaint with HUD, not the Nebraska Real Estate
Commission.

d. Complaint MUST be in writing.
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MODULE 4
UNDERSTANDING REAL ESTATE LAW
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4. UNDERSTANDING
REAL ESTATE LAW

Real Estate Law

e Infroduction to the importance of Real
Estate Laws.

Nebraska License Law Act

e Learners should be able to interpret the

basic concepts of Nebraska License Law
AcT.

Learn Key Terms

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT. If one is not provided by your instructor, please go
to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission webs=-].

OBJECTIVES
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REAL ESTATE LAW

Successful real estate operations depend on;

1.

And
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NAR:

“In everything that you do, every statement
you make, and every paper you prepare,
remember that there is a possibility that our
action may be the subject of a court
decision. Conduct yourself as if it is not only
possible, but likely.”

~unknown broker
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General Framework of Law and Regulation

(

In the United States.

;i

Common Law

Case Law
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Written Law;

Custom & Practice;

Page 50 of 112



NEBRASKA LICENSE LAW

Federal and State Laws follow these basic principles:

YV VYV V VYV
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REMEMBER: Rules and Regulations are
written by NREC as an addendum to the
STATUTES. The purpose of License Law is
to PROTECT the
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Specific Framework of Law and Regulation

Of Real Estate Licensees Federal and State Constitutions.

“A rule of civil conduct prescribed by the

supreme power in the State, commanding

what is right and prohibiting what is wrong.”
~Blackstone
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Nebraska Real Estate License Act:

Nebraska Agency Statutes:
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What are they???

Limited Agency:

Standards of Representation:

Fiduciary Duty:

Agency Disclosure:
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Regulations:

Specifically referred to as Rules and Regulations or the Nebraska
Administrative Code in Nebraska.

Title 299:

Title 301:
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Case Law:

Example of a Federal Law:

Example of a State Law:
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“What happens if you sell real estate and don’t have a real
estate license?”

WHO is exempt from needing a real estate license to sell real
estate?
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1) Successful real estate operations depend on the following;
a. Agents having the best technology in their field.
b. Ethics and honesty of its brokers and agents.
c. That the public also sees them as ethical and honest, and trusts them.
d. Bothbandc.

2) To be successful in real estate an agent must;
a. have a strong background in law.
b. have a basic understanding of License Law and the legal process.
c. know right from wrong.
d. be able to read and interpret the civil rights manual to clients.

3) Real estate conflicts are governed by;
a. National Association of Realtors.
b. Federal Laws
c. State Laws.
d. Federal and State Laws.

4) What happens to an unlicensed person selling real estate?
a. They make more money because they don’t have a commission split with a
brokerage.
b. Fines, if the unlicensed person is found guilty of practicing real estate without a
license.
c. They go to jail for a minimum of five years without parole.
d. Fines, of up to $100 for each transaction they performed.

5) If a salesperson misses his/her license renewal date of November 30, but went ahead and
sent a check in on December 16, is he/she a licensed agent of the State of Nebraska?
a. No, they must retake the state portion of the exam.
b. License is expired after December 1.
c. License is expired after December 15.
d. License is expired after December 31.
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MODULE 5
UNDERSTANDING REAL ESTATE LAW
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5. UNDERSTANDING REAL ESTATE LAW

Real Estate Law

e Infroduction to the importance of Real
Estate Laws.

Nebraska License Law Act

e Learners should be able to interpret basic

concepts of the Nebraska License Law
AcCT.

Learn Key Terms

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT. If one is not provided by your instructor, please go
to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website, www.nrec.ne.gov.

OBJECTIVES
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Appraisal:

Broker’s Price Opinion, (BPO):

Comparative Market Analysis, (CMA):
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Train-the-Trainer Work Space
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REJECTRED i :
What is the process a licensee

must go through when the commission denies your
application?

NOIICE OF Refusal Applicant Written Notice of
___days BN Request Hearing S Hearing

___days

Commission
Hearing Decision

___days

81.885.18 Application; refusal; hearing; decision

Page 64 of 112



NEBRASKA LICENSE LAW

Where can | display my license?

“...and shall be kept in the custody and control of such
broker to display his or her own license and those of his or
her associate brokers and salespersons conspicuously in

his or her place of business.”
81-885.19 License; form; issuance; brokers’ branch office; license; fee.

Susie Salesperson leaves Company A for a

better opportunity at Company B. What should Susie do
with her license?
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1) A new Nebraska real estate licensee has been asked by a potential seller to help determine
value on the home they are preparing to put on the market. The new license should perform
the following;

a. Appraisal, the process of estimating and supporting an opinion of value.

b. Brokers Price Opinion, (BPO) the estimate of profitable selling price, rather than value.

c. Comparative Market Analysis, (CMA) simplified version of the sales comparison
approach to help determine the value of real estate.

d. None of the above.

2) Judy has successfully completed all of her pre-licensing requirements and was waiting on the
acceptance of her real estate application when she received a “Notice of Refusal” from the
commission due to a blemish that had appeared on her background check. If Judy really
wants to become a real estate professional in the state of Nebraska what should Judy do next?
a. Request a hearing.

b. Reapply.
c. Retake her pre-licensing requirements.
d. Give up and move on to another career field with less restrictions.

3) Once a new licensee passes his exam his real estate license is;
a. His to keep and put on display in his home office.
b. Put safely in a file where it cannot be stolen.
c. Keptin the custody and control of his/her broker and put on display.
d. Displayed at the local real estate board office.

4) Members of the Nebraska Real Estate Commission are appointed by;
The Nebraska REALTORS Association

The public vote in November.

The Governor.

The Secretary of State.

o0 o

5) The minimum age required to be issued a Nebraska broker’s or salesperson’s license is;
a. 18 c. 21
b. 19 d. None.
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MODULE 6
TRUST ACCOUNTS
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6. TRUST ACCOUNTS

Trust Accounts

e Infroduction to learners in the basic
concepts of Trust Accounts.

Discover

e Discover what information can be
found on the NREC website.

Learn Key Terms

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT and TRUST ACCOUNT MANUAL. If one is not
provided by your instructor, please go to the Nebraska Real Estate
Commission website, www.nrec.ne.qov.

OBJECTIVES
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Trust Accounts Word Find
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AGENCY
CHECKBOOK
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What is a Trust Account?
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1. Can trust accounts be interest bearing?

2. OnJuly 1, 2017 what change is made to trust accounts?

3. Is there a limit of how many trust accounts a broker can have?
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4. If a trust account is deemed “unsafe” by the Commission, to
whom does the Commission report this?

5. What happens?

HINT: 81-885.21 Broker, separate trust account, notify commission where maintained;
examination by representative of commission; broker entitled to money; when.
THROUGH 81.885.23 Attorney General; special counsel; appoint; fees allowed; taxed as
costs.

Make a list of what records Agents NEED to keep copies of
and what records need to be turned into Brokers.
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Agents Brokers
" "
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Closing can be handled by?

NO FUNDS can be dispersed prior to
closing without the written consent of ALL parties. Persons
closing are required to have “GOOD FUNDS.”

Trust Accounts in Real Property Management
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What must a broker do to eliminate the possibility of a negative fund
balance?

What may be considered “Trust Funds”?

What will a Broker be asked to provide for an examination?
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BROKER EXAMINATION LIST

Make a list of the items a broker needs to supply an examiner during a trust account examination.
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1) A relationship between an agent and his/her client is called;

friendship

client/agent confidentiality
agency

brokerage

oo o

2) The term most frequently used to describe the brokers personal funds which are maintained
in the trust account is;

Brokers’ Equity
Reconciliation
Statements

None of the above

o0 o w

3) Closings can be handled by the following individuals;

Licensed attorneys.

Licensed agents and brokers.

Licensed brokers, agents and attorneys.

Licensed brokers, attorneys, and title insurance agents.

oo o w

4) A broker has used a check on the trust account to pay an expense on behalf of an owner, but
the owner does not have sufficient funds in the account to cover the check. What must the
broker do to eliminate the possibility of a negative balance?

a. Immediately prior to issuing any property management trust account check, contact the
owner and request funds to cover the expense.

b. Provide a short-term loan from the broker’s operating account, made payable to the trust
account.

c. Prepare a journal entry on the trust account books which would reduce the balance in the
broker’s equity sub-ledger account, without creating a negative balance and increase the
balance in the property sub-ledge account.

d. All of the above.
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5) Agents must receive a when writing the offer, not after the offer is
accepted.

Check

Credit card number
Debit card number
None of the above

oo o
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MODULE 7
THOU SHALT NOT
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7. THOU SHALT NOT

Real Estate Law

e Llearn 81-855.24

Case Study

e Review case studies and answer
questions using Nebraska License Law.

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT. If one is not provided by your instructor, please go
to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website, www.nrec.ne.qov.

OBJECTIVES
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“Thou Shalt Not” Crossword
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ACross

6. An announcement to the public.

11. A false statement of concealment.

12. A present.

16. Unable to do one’s job well.

19. Inducing owners to sell or rent based on representations that persons of a particular race,
religion, national origin, etc., are moving into the area.

20. Statements of opinion and exaggeration.

21. The earth’s surface, below the center, above to infinity, and all natural things attached.

22. One who acts as an intermediary on behalf of others for a fee.

Down.

1. To make known or uncover.

2. Intentional misstatement of fact to induce someone to take a particular action.

3. Inability of a person to exercise free will because of fear from another party.

4. One legally placed in a position of trust and confidence.

5. Statement of money received and paid, a bill, report, or description of finances.

7. Something needed or a necessary condition.

8. Type of account used for all money RECEIVED by a broker, escrow agent or the temporary

custodian of funds for others in a real estate transaction

9. Relationship between a broker or agent and a principle.

10. Mix the money or other property of his or her principle with his or her own.

13. Agreement among competent parties to do or not to do some legal act(s) and supported by
legal consideration.

14. Channeling home seekers to areas on the basis of their race, color, religion, etc.

15. Refusing to make loans or issue insurance policies in certain areas, based on the presence of
a protected class.

17. To be proven guilty, especially in a court of law.

18. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
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Attachment 7B

Use 81-885.24 to complete the following.

1) Refusing because of : :

: , or disability to show, sell,
or rent any real estate for sale or rent to prospective purchaser’s or
renters is considered a violation of the Unfair Trade Practices.

2) Intentionally using advertising which is or
inaccurate in any material particular or in any way misrepresents any
property, terms, values, policies, or services of the business conducted is
considered a violation of the Unfair Trade Practices.

3) Accepting any form of or

by an associate broker or salesperson from
anyone other than his or her employing broker without the consent of his
or her employing broker is considered a violation of the Unfair Trade
Practices.

4) the money or other personal property of his
or her principals with his or her own is a violation of the Unfair Trade
Practices.

5) Failing to include a fixed of
In any written listing agreement and filing to leave a copy of the
agreement with the principal is a violation of Unfair Trade Practices.
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Your instructor will share story problems to assist you in answering the following questions
in small groups.

Case Study 1

e What happens to Dani next?

e Do you think Dani should be able to continue to sell real
estate?
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Case Study 2

e What happens next?

e \What should Mark have done differently?

e Do you think Mark’s punishment fit the crime?
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Case Study 3

e What happens next?

e Do you believe Aaron’s penalty was fair?

e \What should he have done differently?
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MODULE 8
SUBDIVISIONS and TITLE 299
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8. SUBDIVISIONS and TITLE 299

Subdivisions

* Assess learner's knowledge of Real Estate
Law regarding Subdivisions.

Title 299

e Review laws and procedures in Title 299
which are drafted and enacted by the
NREC.

Learn Key Terms.

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT, Title 299. If one is not provided by your instructor,
please go to the Nebraska Real Estate Commission website,
WWW.Nrec.ne.qov.

OBJECTIVES
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Subdivision:
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What information must be included when making
application for a subdivision in the State of Nebraska?

Why is it important to understand subdivision laws?
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Nebraska is King of Chaper 9 Bankruptcies — How did that Happen?
Posted by Deane Winer 7/26/2013
NebraskaWatchdog.org

“BUST TO BOOM: The Standing
Stone subdivision near Gretna
filed for bankruptcy protection a
few years ago, when it had 150
empty lots. But today, the
subdivision is bustling with
construction again.”
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Title 299:

NOTES:
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Write one multiple choice question for each of the chapters;
Chapters 1 THROUGH 7, excluding 6 of Title 299.

WORK SPACE:
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Write one multiple choice question for each of the chapters;
Chapters 1 THROUGH 7 of Title 299 excluding Chapter 6.

WORK SPACE:
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NOTES
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1) The following filing fee must accompany the application for a subdivision;

a.
b.
C.

One hundred dollars.

Five hundred dollars.

One hundred dollars plus twenty-five dollars for each one hundred lots or fraction thereof
to be offered for sale.

Five hundred dollars plus twenty-five dollars for each one hundred lots or a fraction
thereof to be offered for sale.

2) Any person or subdivider acting as a broker, salesperson, or subdivider without having first
obtained the required license or subdivision certificate may be;

a.
b.
C.
d.

Guilty of a felony.

Under suspicion.

Under suspension and may be found guilty of a Class Il misdemeanor.
None of the above.

3) Title299is a;

a.
b. An interpretation or addition of the Nebraska License Law.

C.

d. Section of law determining how much commission a new licensee can make.

Very boring part of the Nebraska License Law.

Section of law stating how many agents may sell real estate in Nebraska.
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MODULE 9
AGENCY RELATIONS
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9. AGENCY RELATIONS

Agency

e Students should be able to differentiate
between the different types of agency
available to the consumer and explain each.

First Substantial Contact

e Sfudents should understand what First
Substantial Contact is and how o use it
appropriately.

Define Key Terms

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of ARICLE 24, AGENCY RELATIONS
and a NEBRASKA AGENCY DISCLOSURE. If oneis not

provided by your instructor, please go to the Nebraska Real Estate
Commission website, www.nrec.ne.gov.

OBJECTIVES
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AGENCY:

NOTES:
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First Substantial Contact:

What should be done at an Open House? !
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___ CLIENT ____ AGENCY RELATIONSHIP
_ DUAL AGENT ____ BUYERS’ LIMITED AGENT
____ CUSTOMER _ LICENSEE
______PRINCIPAL __ LIMITED SELLERS’ AGENT
_____ ADVERSE MATERIAL FACT ____ REAL PROPERTY

A)
B)

C)

D)

E)

F)

G)

H)

J)

Land and whatever, by nature or artificial annexation, is a part of it.
A fact which can affect desirability or value of a property.

A relationship created between a designated broker and his/her licensee affiliated
with a client.

A buyer or a seller who has entered into a brokerage relationship with a licensee.

Buyer or seller in a real estate transaction who is not entered into a brokerage
relationship with a licensee.

A limited agent, who can represent both parties with the written informed consent
of ALL parties.

A single limited agent with the duties and obligations to only the buyer.
A person authorizing an agent to represent them.
A limited agent with the duties and obligations to only the seller.

An all-inclusive term meaning designated broker, an associate broker or sales
person.

Page 102 of 112



NEBRASKA LICENSE LAW

Your instructor will share story problems to assist you in answering the following questions
in small groups.

Case Study 1

Case Study 2
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1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

The prime obligation of an agent to the principal is;
a. Mutual trust.

b. Worship.
c. Loyalty.
d. Financial.

The best example of a fiduciary relationship is that relationship which exists between;
a. Broker and banker.

b. Salesperson and customer.

c. Salesperson and Nebraska Real Estate Commission.

d. Broker and client.

The person who makes the decision to create an agency relationship is the;
a. Seller.

b. Buyer.
c. Broker.
d. Principle.

Dual Agency is defined as;

a. A limited agent, who with the written informed consent of ALL parties may represent
both sides of a transaction.

b. An agent who has to debate against another agent during a transaction.
A single limited agent with duties and obligations to one party of the transaction.

d. Agent who represents only buyers during a transaction.

An Agency Disclosure;

a. Should only be used when writing a contract.
b. Should not be used by property managers.

c. Should not be used by builder representatives.
d. None of the above.

Page 104 of 112



NEBRASKA LICENSE LAW

MODULE 10
MAKING SENSE OF IT ALL
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10. MAKING SENSE OF IT ALL

Violations

Conftinuing Education

Seller Property Disclosure

* Review of violations, CE and SPD.

Other Statutory References

e SID's, Homesteads, and more.

Preparing for the Exam.

YOU WILL NEED: A copy of the NEBRASKA REAL ESTATE
LICENSE ACT, SELLER PROPERTY DISCLOSURE
STATEMENT, OTHER STATUTORY REFERENCES,
COMMISSION POLICY AND INTERPRETATIONS. If one is not
provided by your instructor, please go to the Nebraska Real Estate
Commission website, www.nrec.ne.gov.

OBJECTIVES
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Errors and Omissions Insurance:

Questions to ask yourself?

e How important is E&O insurance to your business plan?
e How much do you need?

e \Why do you need it at all?
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“In each two year period, every
licensee shall complete twelve
hours of approved Continuing
Education activities and six hours
of Broker Approved Training.”

| PROFESSIONAL

|
| DEVELOPRENT
| ] ~

— What does that mean to a new licensee?

NO Continued Education during the first year of license, then 2 year

education renewal cycle begins.

81-885.49 Continuing Education; purpose THROUGH 81.885.54 Continuing Education; Rules

Regulations.
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PRESENTATION WORK PAGE:
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WHERE DO | FIND TESTING INFORMATION?

b | P
= | NEBRASKA
Real Estate
License
Examinations
Candidate Handbook

September 2023
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NOTES:
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NOTES:
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